Victory Road  

Go Back   Victory Road > General > General Chat > Debate

Notices

Search this Thread
Old August 14, 2014, 03:23:29 AM
Volcarona

Default Do we really only live once?

I'd like to give my answer to a question that troubles a lot of people, especially when they feel uncertain about their lives and destiny:

"Do we really only live once?"

A lot of people I know would say yes, but only because they never really took the time to think deeply on it. Where did they get this idea that once you're dead, that's it, you cease to exist? Whatever source it originated from, I'm sending it back and forming a new belief about life and death.

I have no way of proving this theory of mine to be true. I'm not a scientist, a theologian, nor am I inclined towards either. But I do listen to my heart, and my heart tells me this:

Life as we know it is relatively short. People come and people go but we have no way of knowing when our time starts or when it ends. We could die 50 years into the future or tomorrow. But is death the cessation of life or the gate between one life and another?

I think life and death are like day and night. I think we cycle between both. When we are born, we have a certain number of years to live in this thing we call a body. When we die, we depart and travel to another place to live.

I like to compare it to traveling. We check in, we stay for a while, and depending on what we learn during our visit, we may enjoy it or hate it. Then after we've finished our stay, we pack our bags and head off to another place and do the same thing.

Think of it like a never-ending saga. We can only see life as far as we've read the story of our lives. We write the stories. As we finish one, we transition into another, like a sequel.