Victory Road  

Go Back   Victory Road > General > Video and Computer Games > Minecraft

Notices

 
 
  #1  
Old April 24, 2014, 07:48:52 PM
Reuniclus's Avatar
Reuniclus Reuniclus is offline
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Desert...help me
Posts: 3,300
Default Minecraft General Discussion

I don't know if a general discussion thread exists, but I'll make one anyway.

In my recent discoveries, I found out that arrows actually stick to you if you're hit by one.

I thought it was cool until I saw an arrow stuck in my butt.
  #2  
Old April 24, 2014, 07:56:19 PM
MattyBrollic's Avatar
MattyBrollic MattyBrollic is offline
Volcarona
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 638
Default

Wow
  #3  
Old April 24, 2014, 07:59:09 PM
SpikyEaredPichu96's Avatar
SpikyEaredPichu96 SpikyEaredPichu96 is offline
Landorus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nerdfightaria
Posts: 1,521
Default

I've seen them stuck in stranger places; I once saw one stuck in a player's chin, pointing up like it'd been shot from right below him.
  #4  
Old April 24, 2014, 08:03:37 PM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

1. Go into a Skeleton dungeon.
2. Kill the skeletons.
3. hit E
4. Laugh
5. Repeat

So, has anyone ever found a mushroom island? Been searching for one for a little bit now, no such luck : /
  #5  
Old April 25, 2014, 12:45:10 AM
Cat333Pokémon's Avatar
Cat333Pokémon Cat333Pokémon is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 10,353
Default

Nope, haven't seen a mushroom island, not even in a creative world while flying around. I haven't seen any mesas yet, either, nor any of that biome with the ice spires.
  #6  
Old April 25, 2014, 04:13:07 AM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

I spawned in a mesa once, but aside from the funny colored ground and a single tree there wasn't that much I could make use of and I think I deleted it :P
  #7  
Old April 25, 2014, 09:24:49 AM
Reuniclus's Avatar
Reuniclus Reuniclus is offline
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Desert...help me
Posts: 3,300
Default

I spawned quite close to a mesa in the first world I made since the most recent update. I built my house on top of one of the big clay hills. :3
  #8  
Old April 25, 2014, 02:29:07 PM
GreenMan's Avatar
GreenMan GreenMan is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GreenMan Insane Asylum
Posts: 1,016
Default

Since starting a new world I haven't found a single Village or any of the stuff from the new updates. In anouther world I keep finding emeralds and it's crazy.
  #9  
Old April 25, 2014, 04:38:02 PM
Reuniclus's Avatar
Reuniclus Reuniclus is offline
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Desert...help me
Posts: 3,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenMan View Post
Since starting a new world I haven't found a single Village or any of the stuff from the new updates. In anouther world I keep finding emeralds and it's crazy.
Really? I've already found 2 villages in my world, yet I can't find any emeralds underground. Oh, and I found a horse, but I didn't have a saddle.
  #10  
Old April 26, 2014, 01:27:53 PM
GreenMan's Avatar
GreenMan GreenMan is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GreenMan Insane Asylum
Posts: 1,016
Default

Yeah, no villages but skelletons keep dropping gold armor that's enchanted.
  #11  
Old April 26, 2014, 02:44:40 PM
Reuniclus's Avatar
Reuniclus Reuniclus is offline
Moderator

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Desert...help me
Posts: 3,300
Default

This is news to me, you can find wild melons growing in jungles.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-04-26_18.14.15.png
Views:	139
Size:	307.1 KB
ID:	6135  
  #12  
Old April 27, 2014, 04:45:22 PM
SpikyEaredPichu96's Avatar
SpikyEaredPichu96 SpikyEaredPichu96 is offline
Landorus
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nerdfightaria
Posts: 1,521
Default

So I just played lorgon111's Minecraft Bingo map with my brother. I won, but it got pretty close in the end; all he needed was Mushroom Stew. It was pretty laggy, but I think it has more to do with our computers than with the map itself.
  #13  
Old April 28, 2014, 04:23:28 AM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

Yesterday I learned that someone had made a Minecraft clone for the DS.

Doesn't do much, as far as I can tell there's no way to break blocks or anything and there are no mobs or anything and the project is on "indefinite hiatus," but the idea is sort of cool.

Edit: oh yeah and here's the link in case anyone else wants to try it out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	00002.png
Views:	118
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	6146   Click image for larger version

Name:	00000.png
Views:	132
Size:	55.0 KB
ID:	6148  

Last edited by Dragonite; April 28, 2014 at 12:43:40 PM.
  #14  
Old April 28, 2014, 11:10:02 AM
Cat333Pokémon's Avatar
Cat333Pokémon Cat333Pokémon is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 10,353
Default

That reminds me of all those "lite" versions of Minecraft, such at the Raspberry Pi version, or Minecraft 4K.
  #15  
Old April 28, 2014, 07:15:53 PM
kakashidragon's Avatar
kakashidragon kakashidragon is offline
Kyurem
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Where i belong
Posts: 2,055
Default

The 3ds needs something like that. Be cool to play MC on the DS
  #16  
Old April 28, 2014, 07:35:39 PM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

Only thing is the (3)DS doesn't have as many buttons as other controllers or a keyboard. You have the D-Pad for moving around, you need something to tilt up and down, hit something, place a block, jump, and preferably sneak or sprint. Inventory and Pause could theoretically be put on the bottom screen.

The DS clone that I played had a few options for controls and didn't actually hit stuff (as far as I could tell) and it was still awkward.

Or maybe they could use the gyroscope to handle tilt up and tilt down? Playing that in a car or plane or train or something would be even better than Mario Kart 8)
  #17  
Old April 28, 2014, 09:17:32 PM
Shade's Avatar
Shade Shade is offline
Regigigas
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: World of Darkness
Posts: 890
Default

There was a Minecraft clone for the PSP called Lamecraft that worked rather well. It had a limited world size [like the mobile version] but the controls were very solid and it was perfectly playable. And the 3DS has around the same number of buttons as the PSP does, so setting up a decent control scheme shouldn't be impossible.
  #18  
Old April 28, 2014, 11:41:08 PM
kakashidragon's Avatar
kakashidragon kakashidragon is offline
Kyurem
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Where i belong
Posts: 2,055
Default

I could see the touch screen to be used to mine, craft, build, ect.
Then jump can be set the B button, Looking around can be with Joy-stick (Maybe holding R or L to look up and down), the D-pad can be used to scroll through your items, The A button can be used as a normal button that A always is, X&Y buttons can be used to attack and defend. You know stuff like that, it could be possible u know.
  #19  
Old April 29, 2014, 07:22:26 AM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

Or maybe instead of moving around with the D-pad:

- D-pad for looking around
- A for moving forward
- B for moving jumping
- X for hitting stuff
- Y for placing blocks

Edit: latest snapshot is going to be FUN.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	KHvUzd9.png
Views:	165
Size:	192.2 KB
ID:	6149  

Last edited by Dragonite; April 29, 2014 at 05:21:27 PM.
  #20  
Old May 1, 2014, 02:02:27 AM
Cat333Pokémon's Avatar
Cat333Pokémon Cat333Pokémon is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 10,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonite View Post
So, has anyone ever found a mushroom island? Been searching for one for a little bit now, no such luck : /
Oh, you're gonna love this. You're really gonna love this.

I dug through my old worlds, including one where I tested out release 1.2. I just had a tiny room in the side of a mountain with a small chest containing some iron ore, coal, and torches. Out of curiosity, I decided to wander around to see if I could find where new terrain would generate to find the farthest I explored. Well, within about a minute I found this beauty. Notice the stone tools in the hotbar. Also notice how close it is to where land stopped generating.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-05-01_02.55.14.png
Views:	179
Size:	653.4 KB
ID:	6157   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-05-01_02.56.00.png
Views:	176
Size:	554.6 KB
ID:	6158   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-05-01_03.04.49.png
Views:	161
Size:	551.6 KB
ID:	6159  

Last edited by Cat333Pokémon; May 1, 2014 at 02:08:35 AM.
  #21  
Old May 1, 2014, 11:56:07 AM
Cat333Pokémon's Avatar
Cat333Pokémon Cat333Pokémon is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 10,353
Default

Oh, the seed is 2150614216536345635, and the coordinates are -230x, -120z. This works in 1.7.9. (I cannot guarantee other versions, so if you want to do this, do it soon.) Expect a long boating trek if you create a new world. Heck, it'd actually make a fun little challenge: during the day, collect the things you need to get started (punch down a few trees, grab some saplings and seeds, take the pumpkins next to spawn, scout for sheep), then spend the rest of the game on the island (it's a long swim through ocean, so you consider sundown when you want to head off. You can mine, but you cannot leave the island. It's a rather large island, so you have plenty of space to work with, and as long as you can get wheat growing you can breed the Mooshrooms. Just remember one thing: absolutely no monsters can spawn anywhere within the biome with the exception of dungeons, so it makes the limits of the biome obvious when mining too.

I think I might personally give the challenge a try. Hm, that means I need to come up with a challenge list, too. I'll probably need to explore the island a bit to see what goodies lurk beneath.

Last edited by Cat333Pokémon; May 1, 2014 at 12:08:52 PM.
  #22  
Old May 1, 2014, 12:20:17 PM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

While you're at it, play on snapshot 14w17a or later and set the resource generation parameters to their maximum. Iron and diamonds galore :>
  #23  
Old May 1, 2014, 01:03:11 PM
Cat333Pokémon's Avatar
Cat333Pokémon Cat333Pokémon is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 10,353
Default

Actually, if you do play on the newest snapshot, set the dungeon parameter a bit higher than usual. More goodies, but you'll actually get monsters so you can farm their drops.
  #24  
Old May 7, 2014, 03:22:45 PM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

Any chance of the VR server coming back someday, or is that thing long and officially dead?
  #25  
Old May 7, 2014, 04:06:10 PM
Cat333Pokémon's Avatar
Cat333Pokémon Cat333Pokémon is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 10,353
Default

Officially dead. It has a slim chance of returning if enough people show serious interest (and we wouldn't need to use Crap-"Wait Until Next Version Releases"-Bukkit, which is amusing because CraftBukkit was developed by people who work or worked for Mojang), but judging by the constant complaints and the fact that everyone kind of gave up on it throughout the last six or so months of it being around (heck, nobody noticed when the server was accidentally deleted), it's most likely never coming back.


Also, unrelated, but I am working on a little program that generates statistics for Minecraft worlds. Currently, it counts the number of blocks of each type.

Last edited by Cat333Pokémon; May 7, 2014 at 04:09:22 PM.
  #26  
Old May 10, 2014, 07:54:58 PM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

I told one of my friends to make a toilet.

He did.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-05-10_23.26.13.png
Views:	180
Size:	179.7 KB
ID:	6166  
  #27  
Old May 11, 2014, 04:16:04 PM
Feraligatr's Avatar
Feraligatr Feraligatr is offline
Joltik
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonite View Post
I told one of my friends to make a toilet.

He did.
I added a little innovation!

Language warning    
Click image for larger version

Name:	8IMHL.jpg
Views:	321
Size:	486.0 KB
ID:	6170

Last edited by Cat333Pokémon; May 11, 2014 at 05:33:18 PM.
  #28  
Old October 6, 2014, 10:15:51 PM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

Don't remember if I posted this here before, but I've been on a bit of a baseball kick recently. Dimensions are 115 m/314 feet down the lines, but not sure about the outfield because I just sort of made an ellipse with hedges without formal measurements.

I used commands to fill the scoreboard with black wool, but most of the clearing of the outfield was done in Survival. Why I did that, I have no idea. Regardless, I have about twenty chests of dirt and ores now.

If I get bored later I'll probably try a few other builds. Venus Lighthouse, maybe, and have a bit of fun with redstone. Or maybe Whiterun or Winterhold, if I'm still in a Skyrimy mood when I finish.

(Also I appear to be missing a pixel on the scoreboard in the letter "B" but let's pretend I didn't.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Minecraft Baseball Stadium - Stage 1.png
Views:	173
Size:	1.48 MB
ID:	6462   Click image for larger version

Name:	Minecraft Baseball Stadium - Stage 2.png
Views:	146
Size:	2.20 MB
ID:	6463   Click image for larger version

Name:	Minecraft Baseball Stadium - Stage 2.5.png
Views:	168
Size:	1.84 MB
ID:	6464   Click image for larger version

Name:	Minecraft Baseball Stadium - Stage 3.png
Views:	146
Size:	857.7 KB
ID:	6465   Click image for larger version

Name:	Minecraft Baseball Stadium - Stage 4.png
Views:	152
Size:	1.33 MB
ID:	6466  

Last edited by Dragonite; October 6, 2014 at 10:17:58 PM.
  #29  
Old October 7, 2014, 12:53:08 AM
kakashidragon's Avatar
kakashidragon kakashidragon is offline
Kyurem
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Where i belong
Posts: 2,055
Default

Anyone got minecraft for ps3? I'll gladly play with ya
  #30  
Old October 7, 2014, 06:10:24 AM
Shade's Avatar
Shade Shade is offline
Regigigas
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: World of Darkness
Posts: 890
Default

I have it on PS3/PS4/and eventually Vita, but I'm not good enough with the controls to comfortly play them yet. I'm more of a PC-crafter.
  #31  
Old June 18, 2016, 06:49:36 PM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonite View Post
So, has anyone ever found a mushroom island? Been searching for one for a little bit now, no such luck : /
WELLLLLLLLLLL . . . I started playing again for the first time in a while and spawned right in front of this thing.

Edit: the rest of the world isn't very interesting. Awesome. At least I can say I've found one now, though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	s4eOVWo.png
Views:	71
Size:	2.31 MB
ID:	6847  

Last edited by Dragonite; June 18, 2016 at 07:03:39 PM.
  #32  
Old September 14, 2017, 12:20:10 PM
Dragonite's Avatar
Dragonite Dragonite is offline
Keldeo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Your refrigerator.
Posts: 1,095
Default

Sooooooo . . . it finally hit the 3DS, homebrew not required. Thoughts?
  #33  
Old September 14, 2017, 07:18:10 PM
kakashidragon's Avatar
kakashidragon kakashidragon is offline
Kyurem
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Where i belong
Posts: 2,055
Default

If we can connect thru wifi for minecraft 3ds, im definitely gonna get a New 2ds to play this. (i want a "New 2ds" anyways) not the standard. My old 3ds is just old.
  #34  
Old September 15, 2017, 09:21:29 AM
Cat333Pokémon's Avatar
Cat333Pokémon Cat333Pokémon is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 10,353
Default

I'm going to guess it will be the Pocket Edition.
  #35  
Old September 15, 2017, 05:52:38 PM
KrazyKiwi707's Avatar
KrazyKiwi707 KrazyKiwi707 is offline
Mudkip
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: In the middle of nowhere
Posts: 44
Default

Minecraft has made millions, so of course Nintendo wants it on the DS.
  #36  
Old October 11, 2017, 04:14:23 AM
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
Kyurem
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Somewhere interesting?
Posts: 2,102
Default

I'm seriously considering going to Minecraft "Better Together" and leave the Java version as something of a side thing right now. The game seems to run an absurd amount better than the Java version - you can literally max it out and the game won't chug. I've also been playing using an Xbox One S controller and it felt right at home. Besides, the fact that its multiplayer will work across Windows 10, Xbox One, Android, iOS, VR platforms, and the Nintendo Switch is probably going to be significant in the long term.

I myself am still wondering if there's a good place to find public/invitable Minecraft servers that are based off the newer version and doesn't have a garbage ping (the default 3 public servers that are included in the server list have ping in excess of 3 seconds, so nope).

I do wonder if I should just convert my current game into something online... I think it's possible to do so in the non-Java version, though I still need to work out more details.
  #37  
Old October 12, 2017, 11:40:24 AM
Cat333Pokémon's Avatar
Cat333Pokémon Cat333Pokémon is offline
Administrator

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 10,353
Default

I think the general idea is for them to gradually try to kill off the Java version because the whole Java Virtual Machine isn't that great and is a resource hog. However, as it stands, that's the only way to play on Mac and Linux.
 
Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Victory Road ©2006 - 2018, Scott Cat333Pokémon Cheney
Theme by A'bom and Cat333Pokémon